Thanksgiving Traditions

I absolutely love the holidays, because of the amazing foods that have been traditionally compiled into the dinners my family makes every year. For the past few years I have not been “home” for the holidays…so I’ve been compelled to re-create the masterful recipes that my family has shared with me. And before you say it, I know I’m missing the mashed potatoes…I let one of my friends do that this year.

The best apple pie recipe from my cousin Gabrielle. Thick crust with me most perfect crisp to it. Don’t know how she perfected this, but it is delicious!

DSC_0005 DSC_0007 DSC_0021 DSC_0022 DSC_0043

The Stuffing: A combination of delicious veggies, sausage, and breadcrumbs with Italian spices! This is Aunt Carol’s top secret, most notoriously delectable thanksgiving plate of goodness. Never have I tasted a stuffing recipe so wonderful…it leaves you craving it all year round, and is the first thing you’ll finish of all the leftovers.

 DSC_0055

Sweet Potatoes: This was my Grandmother Candida’s recipe. She makes them with maple syrup! I have never tried the sweet potatoes with the marshmallow topping…and how could I when this one is just too perfect!? (sprinkle brown sugar on the top for extra goodness!)

DSC_0091

Green Beans: Got to have these on your thanksgiving table! boiled and sauteed with garlic in olive oil. Simple and tasty!

DSC_0097

We dried out the wishbone, but looks like I didn’t get the wish this year!

DSC_0105 DSC_0107 DSC_0108

Leave a Reply

