Maternity Photography : Photographing My Sister

When I think of maternity photos, I make a face that’s kind of like what a sad clown looks like with my jaw clenched shut and my teeth exposed…and the reason being, is because most of the time…okay pretty much all of the time, you see the most horrible looking display of what could be a beautiful thing. There are so many awful maternity photos that I’ve seen through my experience, that it just scares me to think people don’t know any better, or look for something more interesting…something worth putting up on your wall and appreciating. Even some of the Mommy/Daddy maternity photos are scarring to the eye…with the studio lighting black and white with the pink (or blue) ribbon wrapped around Mom’s belly and in color (This doesn’t look good! Photographers, please stop doing this!) I digress…anyways, I took photos of my beautiful sister who is nearing her 28 weeks of pregnancy. I started to edit the photos and fell in love with what I came out with.

DSC_0064 copy (1)2DSC_0064 copybw2DSC_0064 copy

 

Here’s more of the photo closer to the original format:

1DSC_0064 (1)

 

And of course we did Mom & Dad photos as well (see them close up on my flickr!) :

Screen shot 2013-11-17 at 11.56.54 PM Screen shot 2013-11-17 at 11.57.11 PM

Leave a Reply

